## Unit Criteria Committee Meeting Monday, February 15, 2016. **2:15 – 3:15 PM** 304-C Eielson

## **Meeting Notes**

Committee members present: Mara Bacsujlaky, Chris Hartman, David Maxwell, Sarah Hardy, Sunny Rice and Carie Green. Excused: Mark Hermann, Jennifer Tilbury, Bob Bolton.

Guests present: Lorrie Rea, Nicole Misarti, Jerry Johnson, Anna Liljedahl, all INE

Meeting notes from last meeting were approved as was agenda.

<u>INE unit criteria:</u> INE faculty presented proposed unit criteria; this is the first unit criteria for INE. Also presented on the process undertaken for developing the unit criteria, which was inclusive throughout development, as well as subjected to vote of approval of unit members prior to being forwarded to this committee.

As part of presentation also explained in detail diversity of faculty work and positions within INE; presented good rationale and support for detailed preamble. Other points/issues/questions posed by committee members focused on stipulated percent service in proposed criteria, order of newly inserted items relative to those already in approved template, and discussion on the matter of to what degree management of a research facility may be considered research. Both low percentage service and management of research facilities are deeply embedded in INE research-driven culture; committee members felt it is important the unit criteria reflect and/or do not contradict unit culture. Minor changes were suggested by committee members, in addition to correction of some formatting errors.

INE faculty will CID 15 BDC -36l &uT 5i t.n5dE far uM (5) arot uD 3l Tj0 6f6 c3f0b